Programme at a Glance

Please click here to download a copy of the programme. Information is accurate as of 5 June 2018.
1:00pm - 4:00pm
Site Visit

Our Tampines Hub

9:00am - 9:15am
Opening Address by Guest-of-Honour:
Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Deputy Prime Minister, Singapore


9:15am - 9:50am
Keynote Address by the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka


Prof Tommy Koh, Ambassador-at-Large, MFA

Mr Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister, Sri Lanka


9.50am - 11:20am
Opening Plenary


Urban Solutions for a Liveable and Sustainable Future

Prof Chan Heng Chee, Ambassador-at-Large, MFA

Mr Luhut Pandjaitan, Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs, Indonesia
Dr Thani Al Zeyoudi, Minister of Climate Change and Environment, United Arab Emirates
Mr Steven Demetriou, Chairman and CEO, Jacobs
Ms Kristalina Georgieva, CEO, World Bank
Mr Bernard Charles, CEO, Dassault Systemes


11:20am - 12:45pm
Expo Activities


12:45pm - 1:30pm
Networking Lunch


1:30pm - 3:00pm
Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize and Water Prize Lecture by Prize Laureates


3:00pm - 3:15pm
Tea Break


3:15pm - 5:15pm
Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize Forum



Environment & Water Leaders Forum (EWLF)


"Closing the Loop - Catalysing a Resilient and Sustainable Future"

Prof. Tommy Koh, Ambassador-at-Large, MFA

Mr Masagos Zulkifli, Minister, Ministry of Environment and Water Resources
Ms Patricia Espinosa, Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, Mexico
Mr Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayer of Rotterdam
Mr David Newman, President, World Biogas Association, London
Mr Neil McGregor, Group President & CEO, Sembcorp Industries Ltd, Singapore


6:30pm - 7:00pm
LKY Prize Award Ceremony & Banquet pre-dinner reception


7:00pm - 9:30pm
LKY Prize Award Ceremony & Banquet


8:30am - 8:45am
Welcome Address by Guest-of-Honour:
Mr Masagos Zulkifli, Minister, Ministry of Environment and Water Resources


8:45am - 9:15am
SPA Awards Presentation Ceremony by Guest-of-Honour:
Mr Masagos Zulkifli, Minister, Ministry of Environment and Water Resources


9:15am - 10:30am
CELS Session 1


Policy & Regulation

Prof. Seeram Ramakrishna, Chair, Circular Economy Taskforce, National University of Singapore (NUS), Singapore

Dr Marcus Gover, CEO, WRAP UK, United Kingdom
Dr Walter Stahel, Founder-Director, Product-Life Institute, Switzerland
Ms Kristalina Georgieva, CEO, World Bank
Mr James Shaw, Minister for Climate Change, New Zealand


10:30am - 11:45am
CELS Session 2


Business Innovation, Models, Best Practices

Mr Antonis Mavropoulos, President, International Solid Waste Association (ISWA), Austria

Mr Ronnie Tay, CEO, National Environment Agency Singapore, Singapore
Mr Yasuo Takahashi, Vice Minister, MOEJ
Dr Michael Braungart, Founder, EPEA Internationale Umweltforschung GmbH, Germany
Mr Wang Tianyi, CEO, China Everbright International Limited, China


11:45am - 1:00pm
CELS Session 3


Future Technologies and Solutions

Dr Marcus Gover, CEO, WRAP UK, United Kingdom

Mr Markus Asch, Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Vice Chairman of the Management Board, Alfred Karcher GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
Dr Kamil Agi, President-CEO, SensorComm Technologies, United States of America
Prof Tim McAloone, Co-Founder, Essensus, Denmark
Mr Nam Kwang Hee, President, Korean Environmental Industry and Technology Institute (KEITI), Korea


1:00pm - 2:15pm
CELS Exclusive Lunch


2:15pm - 3:15pm
Expo Tour (CELS Participants)


2:30pm - 4:30pm
Clean Environment Regulators Roundtable


3:30pm - 6:15pm
South Asia Business Forum


3.30pm - 5:30pm
Leaders-Experts Forum (LEF)


Opening Address by Guest-of-Honour
Ms Low Yen Ling, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education & Ministry of Manpower; Mayor, South West District

Dr Tan Guan Hong, Technology Partner, Pestech Holdings, Singapore
Prof David Chan, Director, SMU Behavioural Sciences Institute, Singapore
Mr Philip Heylen, Honorary Vice Mayor of City of Antwerp
Mr T. Balakrishnan, Chief Marketing Officer and President of Greater China, Diversey


6:00pm - 8:00pm
Industry Night


8:30am - 10:00am
Clean Environment Convention Networking Breakfast


9:00am - 12:15pm
China Innovation Forum


9:00am - 4:00pm
Clean Environment Regulators Roundtable (CERR)


10:00am - 12:30pm
CEC Track 1 - Finding the Global Maxima: Optimisation in Environmental Systems


Dr Chindarat Taylor, Founder & Director, Resource Efficiency Pathway, Thailand
Mr Milan Koev, Head of APAC, REC Solar, Singapore
Ms Elodie Hecq, Head of Sales of BeeBryte, Singapore
Mr Zhang Jingxin, Reserach Fellow at National University of Singapore, Singapore
Mr Denis Arguin, Vice President, Project Development, Enerkem Inc
Mr Antoine Ballereau, Project Manager, Engie Group, Singapore


CEC Track 2 - Nudging Forward with Behavioural Sciences: Creative Ways to Solve Environmental Challenges


Dr Serene Koh, Senior Advisor, Behavioural Insights Team, Singapore
Ms Esther An, Chief Sustainability Officer, City Developments Limited, Singapore
Dr Deepali Singha Khetriwal, United Nations University, India
Mr Stan Krpan, CEO, Sustainable Victoria, Australia
Ms Selina Patra, Research Assistant at Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD), Singapore


10:30am - 1:00pm
IWMF-TWRP Technical Forum


1:00pm - 2:45pm
Green Jobs Symposium


2:00pm - 4:00pm
CEC Track 3 - Smart Grids and Smart Sensors in Environment Management


Dr Raman Velayudhan, Coordinator, World Health Organisation (WHO), Switzerland
Mr Lav Agarwal, CEO & Co-Founder, SmartClean Technologies Pte Ltd, Singapore
Mr Christophe Inglin, Managing Director, Energetix Pte Ltd, Singpapore
Mr Guo Jing Wei,President, Everise Technology Ltd, China
Prof Bae Sung Woo, Assistant Professor, National University of Singapore, Singapore


CEC Track 4 - Fast Forward: Accelerating Automation in the Environmental Sector


Mr Peter Hug, Managing Director, EUnited Cleaning, Germany
Mr Oliver Tian, Immediate Past President, Singapore Industrial Automation Association, Singapore
Dr Kaoru Kikuyama, Senior director, JFE Engineering Corporation, Japan
Mr Christophe Cord'homme, Chief Marketing Director for the Environment & Energy, Constructions Industrielles de la Méditerranée (CNIM), France
Ms Evelyn Yeo, Research Assistant, Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD), Singapore


2:00pm - 6:00pm
E-Waste Business Forum


8:00am - 1:00pm
Site Visit

Tuas South Incineration Plant (TSIP) and NTU Waste-to-Energy Research Facility

9:00am - 1:00pm
Site Visit

Semakau Landfill